Skip to Content

Student Learning Resources

These links provide our students with valuable learning resources. 

The resources found here are applicable to students in Kindergarten through 12th grade.

TOP SITES

Khan Academy- http://www.khanacademy.org/

Discovery Education- http://www.discoveryeducation.com/students/index.cfm?campaign=flyout_students

PBS Kids- http://pbskids.org/

Good Sites for Kids- http://www.goodsitesforkids.org/

Kids Know It- http://www.kidsknowit.com/

 

LITERACY

Brainpop- http://www.brainpop.com/

Funbrain Reading- http://www.funbrain.com/brain/ReadingBrain/ReadingBrain.html

Grammar-  http://www.rudimentsofwisdom.com/pages/grammar.htm

 

 

MATHEMATICS

IXL Math- http://www.ixl.com/

A+ Math- http://www.aplusmath.com/

AAA Math- Interactive Math Lessons- http://www.aaamath.com/

Ask Dr. Math- http://mathforum.org/dr.math/

Web Math- http://www.webmath.com/index.html

Math Train- http://www.mathtrain.tv/index.php

Math Worksheet Center- http://www.mathworksheetscenter.com/mathtips/

Brainpop- http://www.brainpop.com/

Brain Bashers- http://www.brainbashers.com/

Cool Math- http://www.coolmath.com/

Figure This!- http://www.figurethis.org/index.html

The Fruit Game- http://www.2020tech.com/fruit/

Funbrain Math Arcade-http://www.funbrain.com/brain/MathBrain/MathBrain.html

Math.com- Homework Help, Games, and Calculators and Tools- http://www.math.com/

Math Advantage- http://www.harcourtschool.com/menus/math_advantage.html

Math Gametime- http://www.mathgametime.com/

Math Goodies- Puzzles, Webquests, and Tools- http://www.mathgoodies.com/

Math in Daily Life-http://www.learner.org/interactives/dailymath/

Plane Math- http://www.planemath.com/activities/pmactivitiesall.html

Rick's Math.com- http://www.ricksmath.com/

Teachrkids- http://www.teachrkids.com/

Wolfram Math- http://mathworld.wolfram.com/

Interactive Mathematics and Puzzles- http://www.cut-the-knot.org/

 

 

SCIENCE

National Geographic- http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/kids/?source=NavKidsHome

Smithsonian Animal Cams- http://nationalzoo.si.edu/Animals/WebCams/default.cfm

Amazing Space- http://amazing-space.stsci.edu/

Building the International Space Station- http://school.discoveryeducation.com/schooladventures/spacestation/

Earth and Moon Viewer- http://fourmilab.ch/earthview/vplanet.html

Earth from Space- http://earth.jsc.nasa.gov/sseop/efs/

Jason Project- http://www.jason.org/public/whatis/games.aspx

Curse of T-Rex- http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/trex/

NASA Kids Club- http://www.nasa.gov/audience/forkids/kidsclub/flash/index.html

Webquests- http://its.guilford.k12.nc.us/webquests/science.html

Brainpop- http://www.brainpop.com/

Amusement Park Physics- http://www.learner.org/interactives/parkphysics/index.html

Ask Dr. Universe- http://druniverse.wsu.edu/

Bill Nye the Science Guy- http://www.billnye.com/

Color Matters- http://www.colormatters.com/

Cool Science for Curious Kids- http://www.hhmi.org/coolscience/forkids/

Dr. Bob's Interesting Science Stuff- http://www.frontiernet.net/~docbob/

Exploratorium- http://www.exploratorium.edu/

Exploring Leonardo daVinci- http://www.mos.org/sln/Leonardo/LeoHomePage.html

Exploring Energy-http://www.ftexploring.com/

Funology Weird Science- http://www.funology.com/laboratory/

Greatest Engineering Achievements of the 20th Century-http://www.greatachievements.org/

How Stuff Works- http://www.howstuffworks.com/

Infrared Zoo- http://coolcosmos.ipac.caltech.edu/image_galleries/ir_zoo/

Inner Body- A Tour of the Human Body- http://www.innerbody.com/index.html

National Geographic Virtual Solar System- http://science.nationalgeographic.com/science/space/solar-system

Planetpals- http://www.planetpals.com/

Popular Science- http://www.popsci.com/

Science Cartoons- http://www.rudimentsofwisdom.com/themes/themes_science.htm

The Science Explorer- At-home Experiments- http://www.exploratorium.edu/science_explorer/

Time for Kids- http://www.timeforkids.com/

Science Made Simple- http://www.sciencemadesimple.com/

The Science of Hockey- http://www.exploratorium.edu/hockey/

Science Monster- http://www.sciencemonster.com/

Sea and Sky- Explore the Splendors of the Sea and the Wonders of the Universe- http://www.seasky.org/

Skateboard Science- http://www.exploratorium.edu/skateboarding/

Strange Science- http://www.strangescience.net/

Space Camp- http://www.spacecamp.com/

The Space Place-http://spaceplace.nasa.gov/

Star Child- Astronomy- http://starchild.gsfc.nasa.gov/docs/StarChild/StarChild.html

Understanding the Universe- http://school.discoveryeducation.com/schooladventures/universe/

Volcanoes- http://www.learner.org/interactives/volcanoes/entry.html

Your Weight on Other Worlds- http://www.exploratorium.edu/ronh/weight/index.html

Encyclopedia of Biology Terms- http://www.rudimentsofwisdom.com/themes/themes_biology.htm

Encyclopedia of Geology and Geography Terms- http://www.rudimentsofwisdom.com/themes/themes_geography.htm

Encyclopedia of Engineering Terms- http://www.rudimentsofwisdom.com/themes/themes_engineering.htm

Window to the Universe- http://www.windows2universe.org/

 

SOCIAL STUDIES

Smithsonian Museum- http://www.si.edu/

Kids.gov- http://www.kids.gov/

Brainpop- http://www.brainpop.com/

Time for Kids- http://www.timeforkids.com/

1492: An Ongoing Voyage- http://www.ibiblio.org/expo/1492.exhibit/Intro.html

The 1900 House- http://www.pbs.org/wnet/1900house/

America's Story- http://www.americaslibrary.gov/

At Home in the Heartland-http://exhibits.museum.state.il.us/exhibits/athome/index.html

Collapse:  Why Do Civilizations Fall?- http://www.learner.org/interactives/collapse/

Discovering Egypt- http://www.discoveringegypt.com/

The First Thanksgiving- http://www.scholastic.com/scholastic_thanksgiving/

Greatest Engineering Achievements of the 20th Century- http://www.greatachievements.org/

Harriet Tubman and the Underground Railroad- http://www2.lhric.org/pocantico/tubman/tubman.html

Hyper History- http://www.hyperhistory.com/online_n2/History_n2/a.html

Library of Congress- http://www.loc.gov/homepage/lchp.html

Maya Adventure- http://www.smm.org/sln/ma/

Mayflower History- http://www.mayflowerhistory.com/

Odyssey Online- http://carlos.emory.edu/ODYSSEY/index.html

Plimouth Plantation- http://www.plimoth.org/

Pyramids- The Inside Story- http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/pyramid/

The Seven Wonders of the World- http://www.cleveleys.co.uk/wonders/sevenwondersoftheworld.htm

Encyclopedia of Geography and Geology Terms- http://www.rudimentsofwisdom.com/themes/themes_geography.htm

Kids Past- http://www.kidspast.com/

 

THE ARTS

Art

A. Pintura Art Detective- http://www.eduweb.com/pintura/

Art Express- http://www.harcourtschool.com/menus/art_express.html

Cartoon Critters- http://www.cartooncritters.com/

Brainpop- http://www.brainpop.com/

Color Matters- http://www.colormatters.com/

Haring Kids Interactive Coloring Book- http://www.haringkids.com/

Inside Art Webquest- http://www.eduweb.com/insideart/index.html

Art History- http://www.kinderart.com/arthistory/

Cartoon Drawing- http://www.garyharbo.com/activity.html

Exploring Leonardo daVinci- http://www.mos.org/sln/Leonardo/LeoHomePage.html

Exploratorium- http://www.exploratorium.edu/

Learn About Color- http://www.metmuseum.org/metmedia/interactives/start-with-art/learn-about-color

Metropolitan Museum of Art-http://www.metmuseum.org/learn

The Pinhole Gallery- http://www.pinhole.org/

Art Terminology- http://www.rudimentsofwisdom.com/themes/themes_artandarchitecture.htm

Music

Classical Music Archives- http://www.classicalarchives.com/midi.html

Creating Music-http://www.creatingmusic.com/

Guitar Lesson World- http://www.guitarlessonworld.com/

Introduction to Reading Music- http://datadragon.com/education/reading/

Learn About Instruments- http://datadragon.com/education/instruments/

Music Genre Sampler- http://datadragon.com/education/genres/

Play Music- Try Different Instruments Online- http://www.playmusic.org/

Encyclopedia of Music Terms- http://www.rudimentsofwisdom.com/themes/themes_music.htm

Drama

 

HEALTH AND PHYSICAL FITNESS

Kidnetic- http://www.kidnetic.com/

Kids Health- http://kidshealth.org/kid/

Teens Health Food and Fitness- http://kidshealth.org/teen/food_fitness/

BAM!- Body and Mind- http://www.bam.gov/

PE Central- http://www.pecentral.org/websites/kidsites.html

Exploratorium Sports Science- http://www.exploratorium.edu/explore/staff_picks/sports_science/

PE Gang- http://www.pegang.com/

Brainpop- http://www.brainpop.com/

Encyclopedia of Sports- http://www.rudimentsofwisdom.com/themes/themes_sport.htm

INFORMATION LITERACY

Information literacy is the ability to locate, evaluate, and effectively use information in its various formats to communicate clearly, make informed decisions, and construct new knowledge.  Information literacy also includes knowledge on how to cite resources in a bibliography. There are a number of important considerations related to information literacy.


Computer Ethics

Computer ethics involve the rules and standards of using computers and digital information.  The rules and standards are sometimes called acceptable use policies.  These policies relate to privacy, accuracy of information, property ownership, and access issues. 
 

Internet Access
Several laws govern Internet access for minors.   The Children’s Internet Protection Act (CIPA) requires schools to install Internet filters on the network used by all School Board computers.  Netiquette
Netiquette is etiquette online.  It is the appropriate and accepted way to communicate online.  Emoticons are used to show expression and feelings that cannot be seen when online.  For more information visit:

http://www.iwillfollow.com/email.htm

http://www.albion.com/netiquette
Privacy
Without permission or supervision from your parents/guardians or teacher(s)
  • Do not give out personal information about yourself
  • Do not arrange to meet with someone you have met over the Internet
  • Avoid sending pictures of yourself through e-mail
  • Do not share your user name and password to your computer or any software accounts with others.
  • Do not let others use your computer.
  • Remember that the data on your computer is subject to the same rules as items in your locker and may be subject to search
     
Copyright Laws

What is Copyright?
“A protection that covers published and unpublished literary, scientific and artistic works, whatever the form of expression, provided such works are fixed in a tangible or material form. This means that if you can see it, hear it and/or touch it - it may be protected. If it is an essay, if it is a play, if it is a song, if it is a funky original dance move, if it is a photograph, HTML coding or a computer graphic that can be set on paper, recorded on tape or saved to a hard drive, it may be protected.

Copyright laws grant the creator the exclusive right to reproduce, prepare derivative works, distribute, perform and display the work publicly. “Exclusive” means only the creator of such work, not anybody who has access to it and decides tolearn how much of what type of digital information can be used within the Fair Use Guidelines of the Copyright Law.”
Source: http://www.whatiscopyright.org/


Property Ownership
The time, effort, and resources required to create and produce intellectual property such as software, music, articles, projects, web sites, etc. should be honored.

The following guidelines will help maintain respect of intellectual property ownership:
• Do not copy software CDs and share with others. This is software piracy.
• Do not share your music tracks with others. File sharing of music violates copyright law.
• Do not copy articles, papers, and projects from the Internet and turn them in as your own. This is plagiarism. Many web sites have a section called “Terms” or “terms of use” that outlines the policy on the way downloaded information may be used.
• Always give credit to your primary sources of information and graphics.
ver the form of expression, provided such works are fixed in a tangible or material form. This means that if you can see it, hear it and/or touch it - it may be protected. If it is an essay, if it is a play, if it is a song, if it is a funky original dance move, if it is a photograph, HTML coding or a computer graphic that can be set on paper, recorded on tape or saved to a hard drive, it may be protected.

Copyright laws grant the creator the exclusive right to reproduce, prepare derivative works, distribute, perform and display the work publicly. “Exclusive” means only the creator of such work, not anybody who has access to it and decides tolearn how much of what type of digital information can be used within the Fair Use Guidelines of the Copyright Law.” 

Source: http://www.whatiscopyright.org/